30 Day Writing Challenge Day #1

by elusiveunderstanding5

In the book I recently began reading, it says you have to just write and not worry about whether or not what you’re writing sucks. In essence, the idea it is trying to push across is you can never produce something good unless you’re willing to start out with something bad. Everyone in this day and age wants to be a writer. The metaphor used in the book concerns swimmers and olympic athletes. Everyone and their mom’s think they can write the next great American novel whereas they marvel at the amazing things athletes do. For whatever reason, it is presumed that writing is easy and that all one has to do is simply sit down and begin writing. A lot of people say things like, “Well, if I had the time, I could probably write something worthwhile.” The truth is that logic is an insult to all of the great writers out there. Writing is most definitely a skill and one that has to be practiced. Not just anyone can sit down and produce a masterpiece. Writing is an art and one that can be perfected over time. It’s unfortunate that the masses believe otherwise as many great authors had to struggle initially in order to eventually produce the great works they produced. It’s ironic how many people say English degrees are worthless or a waste of money. This is because many employers rate writing as one of the most important skills to have. This is because it is important to be able to express yourself in a coherent manner. If some of us wrote the way we speak, we would never get hired anyway. You have to be able to present yourself in a manner in which you’re able to showcase your valuable attributes. Two of my favorite authors are Stephen King and Michael Connelly. I love the Harry Bosch series by Michael Connelly as that’s probably my favorite detective series. I’d read anything by Stephen King even if he was at a restaurant and simply wrote a few words on a napkin. He’s best known for his horror stories but I feel that’s a label that’s unfair at times because his works have so much more to offer. I’m not the biggest horror fan but Stephen King stories are not just horror stories, he provides a window into the hearts and minds of people. He shows what people can do at their best and at their worst. Michael Connelly’s character, Harry Bosch, makes me want to become a cop as he’s the type of cop that makes you believe not every cop out there is an asshole out to get you. I love reading even though I don’t read as much as I used to. I remember I used to sit in my room and read for hours. I would be locked into the book and essentially be in my own little happy world. Nothing would distract me and my mom would often have to call me more than two times just to get my attention. Nothing mattered in that moment, it was just me and the book. Those characters were not just words on paper but something more concrete. It was almost as if those characters became real in those moments. It was almost as if their pain was my pain, their struggles were my struggles. I felt like I was bleeding when they got hurt. It was always bittersweet when I finished a great book. A part of me was content that there was a resolution while the other part of me was actually longing to reconnect with those characters.

