Marriage

by elusiveunderstanding5

I am an American who was raised in an Indian household. As a result, my life has been a collision course, of sorts, between two cultures. I consider myself both Indian and American. I have lived my life loving both cultures as both appeal to me in different ways. I turned 26 about two months ago and I am steadily approaching the big 3-0. Therefore, my parents, sister, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins are all wondering when I’ll take the plunge and get married. The closer you get to 30, the more they get worried and wonder why you’re not married yet. I am set on finding a girl on my own and do not want to go the arranged marriage route; however, patience is wearing thin as my family is wondering why I don’t have a girlfriend. It’s not for lack of trying but I have always been a shy or awkward person.  I have broken out of my shell greatly through college and the Army but I have yet to meet anyone with whom things might have a chance of going further. I either ruin it or it runs its course and I’m back to square one. All I know is the next few years will entail making some decisions that will dictate the direction my life will go in the foreseeable future. I’m cynical but I hope I’m able to find her on my own. Only time will tell. 

